More information on certification can be requested from us.

ITIL Qualifications

There are three levels of certification in the ITIL qualification scheme.
1. Foundation Certificate
2. Practitioners Certificate
3. Managers Certificate

Foundation Certificate

This is designed to provide a foundation level of knowledge in IT Service Management and is aimed at all personnel who wish to become familiar with the best practices for IT Service Management, as defined in the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL). The Foundation Certificate in particular enables people to understand the terminology used within ITIL.

Practitioner’s Certificate

This is aimed at those who are responsible within their organisation for designing specific processes within the IT Service Management discipline, and performing the activities that belong to those processes. The Practitioner’s Certificates focus on the depth of understanding and application of those subjects, treating each subject as a specialism.

Manager’s Certificate

The Manager’s Certificate is aimed at those who need to demonstrate a capability for managing ITIL-based solutions across the breadth of the Service Management subjects.


ITIL accreditation demonstrates that an individual has met the standards in Service Management as set by an examination certification board comprising representatives from OGC, itSMF and the Examination Institutes.

Official professional qualifications based on ITIL are currently offered by the following Examination Institutes.

  • ISEB (The Information Systems Examination Board) a wholly owned subsidiary of the British Computer Society.
  • EXIN - the Examination Institute for Information Science in the Netherlands.





Copyright 2006 itSMF Gulf. All rights reserved